Where My Moon Goddesses At!?

Mumsy

This is my mom! Hi Mom!
Isn’t she totally gorgeous / mystic-looking?

My latest obsession is all Mom’s fault. We have started this little hobby together – learning about gemstones and minerals and searching out vintage or hand-made gemstone / mineral jewellery. It all started in a little place called Kensington Market in Toronto, Ontario.

Lovely Vendor Lady in Kensingston.

Not only do gemstones and minerals make great, unique pieces of jewellery, they allegedly can be used for the betterment of one’s life or for holistic healing practices. A particular stone absorbs all kind of solar and cosmic energy in it’s creation – which the body then absorbs. Many people believe that gemstones and minerals possess the power to balance one’s life and restore energy.

If you haven’t stopped reading at this point because you think I’m some flakey, hippy head-case, I’ll explain myself a little better. I’m not saying I completely believe this stuff is fact, but it’s not unlike my interest in Astrology (very closely related). It’s sort of fun to play along with these myths. There’s something about it that feels mysterious and ancient and awesome – divinely feminine.

Like Priestesses and Witches and Healers before me, I carry around these little chunks of energy on my neck and it makes me feel empowered! ok!? So who cares if it isn’t real, i’ll take a little placebo in my life any day.

Some of my favourite pieces that Mom and I have collected so far:

Rose Quartz and Carnelian

Rose Quartz and Carnelian purchased from an Indian gentlemen in Kensington.

Pink Quartz is known as the ‘love stone’ as the message it emits is the strong vibration of unconditional love, joy, warmth and healing. Wearing this should enable you to heal old negative emotions such as anger, resentment, fear and jealousy that may result from past experiences. Enhances feelings of love and romance.

Carnelian is a stone of individuality and courage. It is associated with motivation and is used to stimulate career growth. Used to instill confidence and a sense of self, as well as clear and focus the mind.

Rainbow MoonstoneColorless Labradorite, commonly called Rainbow Moonstone (not true moonstone) intensifies Feminine Goddess energy. This stone is said to have a “vibration” that will assist women to recognize and embrace their innate personal power. Now thats my kinda stone!

Larimar

Larimar – named after the discoverer’s daughter, Larissa, and the sea (mar). Brings tranquility of the sea to your mind, helping you view events from a different perspective than what you have already formed.

Below are three new hand-made pieces I am expecting in the mail this afternoon!

Please go check out ByMisty on Etsy – she really has some beautiful, unique pieces of jewellery.

The moral(s) of this story? Have fun with what you wear. Learn as much as you can. Natural is always best. Decorate yourself, you goddess you. 

K

Leave a Reply

